1018 Fairpark Blvd.
Harlingen, Texas 78550
(956) 216-5121



Harlingen Municipal Court
Minors and Juveniles Information

Jurisdiction
Parents & Legal Guardians
Alcohol & Tobacco
Alcohol Offenses
Driving Under the Influence
Tobacco Offenses
 


Jurisdiction
Municipal Court has jurisdiction over a person between 10 and 17 years of age for certain traffic, alcohol, penal code, tobacco, educational code, city ordinance, and other fine only offenses. A juvenile traffic offender (minor) is a person younger than 17 years of age. Under the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code (TABC), a minor is a person under 21 years of age. In tobacco offenses, a minor is a person under the age of 18 years age.
Back to Top

Parents & Legal Guardians
A parent or legal guardian's presence in court is required for all proceedings if you are under 17 years of age. Your parents or legal guardian must personally appear with you in court and before Municipal Judge.
Back to Top

Alcohol & Tobacco
There are two violations in municipal court that are unique to minors and juveniles and they are offenses relating to alcohol and tobacco. Both of these offenses have specific requirements in addition to fines and if a minor or juvenile does not complete any of the mandated requirements, the minor or juvenile will have his or her driver's license suspended or denied issuance of a driver's license or permit for a period not to exceed a year.
Back to Top

Alcohol Offenses
Consumption, Possession, Purchase, Misrepresentation of Age
If you are under 21 years of age and received a citation for an alcohol offense except for the offense of driving under the influence of alcohol, and this is your first offense, you are required to:
  • Attend an alcohol awareness class (AAC) within 90 calendar days
  • Complete 8 - 12 hours of community service within the same 90 calendar days
  • Submit proof of said AAC attendance within 90 days
  • Submit proof of community service within the same 90-day period
If you fail to attend the alcohol awareness class or complete the required community service hours, your drivers license will be suspended. These requirements are in addition to payment of a fine and court costs.
  Back to Top

Driving Under the Influence
Minors Driving Under the Influence
This offense also requires the completion of an Alcohol Awareness Class and community service; however, the number of community service hours is between 20 and 40 hours. Again, these requirements are in addition to payment of a fine and court costs. Your drivers license suspension is by a separate administrative procedure through the Texas Department of Public Safety.
  Back to Top

Tobacco Offenses
Tobacco Citations for Minors (Under 18 Years of Age)
If you are under 18 years of age, and received a citation for a tobacco offense, you are required to attend a tobacco awareness class within 90 days and provide evidence of satisfactory completion of the tobacco awareness class within the same 90-day period. If the evidence is not provided within the 90-day period, your driver's license is suspended for 180 days. The tobacco awareness class is in addition to payment of a fine and court costs.
  Back to Top

Copyright © City of Harlingen, Texas  2016. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM