1018 Fairpark Blvd.
Harlingen, Texas 78550
(956) 216-5121



Harlingen Municipal Court
Driving Safety Course
 
Requirements
Before Your Appearance
Failure to Complete a Driving Safety Course
Where Can I Take A Safety Driving Course?
 
 
 
Requirements
If you are interested in taking a Driving Safety Course to have your citation dismissed, you must meet the following requirements:
  • Have a valid non-commercial Texas Drivers License, or be active duty military personnel including spouses and dependent
  • Have insurance or other evidence of financial responsibility
  • Have not taken DSC within the past year to have a citation dismissed
  • The violation was not committed in a construction zone when workers were present
  • Cannot be speeding 25 miles per hour over or more over the posted speed limit
If you meet the above criteria, you may request a driving safety course on or before your appearance date on your citation (any request after your appearance date must be approved by the Judge). When you make your request, you must provide the court the following 5 items:
  • Payment of court costs in addition to administrative fee; payment options are cash, check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover Card, in person
  • A copy of your valid drivers license or permit
  • A copy of your proof of financial responsibility (or insurance)
  • A written statement indicating you have taken a Driving Safety Course within the one year preceding the date of this citation and said statement must be sworn to before a Public Notary
  • A written plea of either guilty or no contest
Back to Top

Before Your Appearance
On or before your appearance date, mail or bring to the Clerks Window the above stated five terms, and upon approval, the court will grant you permission to take the course. If applying by mail, please wait until you have received permission from the court before you take the course. You will have 90 days in which to complete the course and obtain a certified copy of your driving record from Austin. Upon successful completion and return of your documents to the court, your citation will be dismissed. Both documents, the course completion certificate and the certified copy of your driving record, must be returned to the Court on or before the 90th day to have your citation dismissed.
Back to Top

Failure to Complete a Driving Safety Course
If you fail to complete any one of the requirements by your due date, your case will be set for a Show Cause Hearing. A letter will be mailed to the address on your citation. There are no resets for a Show Cause Hearing except for an emergency that can be verified by a Court Supervisor.
If you fail to appear at the hearing, a Judgement of guilt will be entered without further notice and the violation will appear on your driving record unless you file an appropriate appeal bond with the Clerk's Office no later than ten (10) calendar days from the judgement date.
You have ten (10) calendar days from the hearing date to either pay or appeal the Judgement before a capias pro fine warrant is processed. You may waive your hearing by writing to the Court waiving your Show Cause Hearing and pay the remaining balance of the fine. Make all payments payable to the City of Harlingen.
Back to Top

Where Can I Take A Driving Safety Course?
The Court is not allowed to recommend a driving school. We will refer you to the yellow pages of the telephone directory, under Driving Instruction and/or Driving Schools, and call a number listed. You need to only ask if their school is an approved course for the dismissal of a traffic citation. You can take the course anywhere within the State of Texas so long as the six-hour course is Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved. You may also take the course online or by renting a video.
  Back to Top

Copyright © City of Harlingen, Texas  2016. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM