Date Elected:   May 1998

Re-elected:       May 2016

Term Ends:
      May 2019

Office Phone #:  (956) 428-9191 

E-Mail Address:

Partner, Curtis & Boswell, L.L.P.– Attorneys at Law; Cameron County Bar Association President 2001; Cameron County Bar Association Director 1989-1992; 1998-2002. Board Certified in Civil Trial Law, Texas Board of Legal Specialization; Licensed by the Texas Supreme Court in 1983, admitted to practice in the United States District Court, Southern District of Texas and the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit. Texas Young Lawyer Association-District Director 1993-1995.

Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance, University of Texas at Austin 1980; Juris Doctor, Southern Methodist University 1983.

Elected Mayor of the City of Harlingen May 2007 and re-elected May 2016; Harlingen City Commission 1998-2007 and Mayor Pro-Tem 1999-2000 and 2004-2005; President Lower Rio Grande Valley Development Council 2010 (Council of Governments); Past President of the Harlingen San Benito Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO); Northern Cameron County United Way Captain 1984, 1995, 1996. Northern Cameron County United Way Budget and Admissions Committee 1985-1988, Northern Cameron County United Way Budget and Admissions Committee Chairman 1989-1991. Harlingen Area Chamber of Commerce: Director 1988-1992; Vice Chairman 1990-1992. Harlingen Industrial Foundation, Inc.: Director 1992-1995; Chairman 1995-1997. Valley Zoological Society Board (Gladys Porter Zoo) 1991-1999.

Scouting Affiliation:
Past Eagle Scout, National Order of the Arrow Chief 1977-1979; Youth Member to National Boy Scouting and Training Committees; Report to the Nation Representative 1977. Cubmaster, Pack 29 Treasure Hills Elementary 1983-1988; Council Commissioner 1986-1988; Council President, Rio Grande Council 1989-1992; Cubmaster, Pack 206, St. Alban’s Church and Day School; Southern Region O.A. Chairman 1997-2000; Sub-camp Chief 2001 National Scout Jamboree; Woodbadge Coach Counselor, SPL, Asst. Scoutmaster and Scoutmaster/Course Director (Woodbadge for the 21st Century);Southern Region Chairman for the 20th World Scout Jamboree in Thailand; Area President of Area 2 comprising 11 Councils in Texas and Louisiana 2001-2003; National Order of the Arrow Committee 1997-2004.

Southern Region Executive Board, 1992 to present and current Southern Region Executive Committee Member at Large; Assistant Scoutmaster Troop 206, St. Alban’s Episcopal Church and Day School; Council Endowment.

Wife : Anita, Executive Vice President and Director of First Community Bank
Children : Megan (21), Thomas (17) and Carrie (14).

Scouting Recognition:
National Order of the Arrow Distinguished Service Award, Silver Beaver, Paisano Award, James E. West Fellow, Woodbadge, Silver Antelope.

Other Recognition:
Valley Morning Star Best of the Best Lawyer 2001 and 2002, Cameron County Legal Secretaries Boss of the Year–1998.

Religious Affiliation:
Vestry, St. Alban’s Episcopal Church 2001–2004 and 2006-2009.

Hobbies:    Reading, Hiking, Sailing.

Copyright © City of Harlingen, Texas  2016. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM